2023 Youth Media Award Winners


WINNERS YouthBookAwards 2023 PageBanners 1280 375 px RC 0


(Barre, Vermont) – Each year thousands of Vermont kids pick their favorites for three student-choice
book awards, and the votes are now in. The Vermont Department of Libraries announced winners on
Thursday, May 11, 2023, of all three student-choice literary awards, the Red Clover Book Award,
Vermont Golden Dome Book Award, and Green Mountain Book Award.

I Eat Poop. A Dung Beetle Story by Mark Pet wins the 2022-2023 Red Clover Book Award. The book was
described by members of the award committee: “Dougie the Dung Beetle struggles with issues of
identity and conformity in this charming, crowd-pleasing book. He hides his lunch from home every day,
so that no one at the bug school will know that he eats poop. Underneath the humor is a poignant story
about feeling different from your peers that reinforces the idea that ‘we’re all a little weird.’” Initiated
in 1997, the Red Clover Award is chosen by children in kindergarten through fourth grade. With teacher
guidance and support, each year thousands of kids read the ten nominated picture books and vote for
their favorite.

 WINNERS YouthBookAwards 2023 PageBanners 1280 375 px GDBA


Alone by Megan E. Freeman wins the 2022-2023 Vermont Golden Dome Book Award. Golden Dome
Award commitee members described this book: “Twelve-year old Maddie awakens to find herself
alone. Everyone else in the town has been mysteriously evacuated, leaving Maddie behind. Now she and
her neighbor’s abandoned dog, George, must find food, clean water, fuel, and a way to try to
communicate with her missing family. As the months pass, Maddie has to deal with the realization that
there may not be a rescue forthcoming, and she must face the challenges of her new life alone.” Since
1957, Vermont students in grades four through eight select their favorite book from a list of nominees
for this award. Students are encouraged to read at least five of the year's 25 nominated titles before




2023 Youth Media Award Winners

Following is the list of winners announced at this morning's 2023 Youth Media Awards ceremony during ALA's Lib Learn X.  Please check back at SLJ.com throughout the day for more coverage, including interviews with winning authors.

John Newbery Medal

Freewater by Amina Luqman-Dawson

Randolph Caldecott Medal

Hot Dog by Doug Salati

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award

I Did It! by Michael Emberley

Children's Literature Legacy Award
James E. Ransome

Odyssey Award covers

Odyssey Award
Children: Stuntboy, in the Meantime by Jason Reynolds, produced by Taryn Beato 

YA Award: The Honeys by Ryan La Sala, produced by Melissa Ellard

Sibert and Batchelder Award winner covers

Robert F. Sibert Medal
Seen and Unseen by Elizabeth Partridge, illus. by Lauren Tamaki

Mildred L. Batchelder Award
Just a Girl: A True Story of World War II by Lia Levi, illus. by Jess Mason

ALSC Children's Literature Lecture Award
Rita Williams-Garcia

Pura Belpré Awards

Children's Illustration: Where Wonder Grows, illus by Adriana M. Garcia, written by Xelena González

Children's Author: Frizzy by Claribel A. Ortega, illus. by Rose Bousamra

Young Adult Author: Burn Down, Rise Up by Vincent Tirado

Michael L. Printz Award

All My Rage by Sabaa Tahir

YALSA and Morris-Award-Covers

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults

Victory. Stand!: Raising My Fist for Justice by Tommie Smith, Derrick Barnes, and Dawud Anyabwile 

William C. Morris Award

The Life and Crimes of Hoodie Rosen by Isaac Blum

Margaret A. Edwards Award

Jason Reynolds

Alex Awards

A Lady's Guide to Fortune-Hunting by Sophie Irwin

Babel by R.F. Kuang

Chef's Kiss by Jarrett Melendez

Daughter of the Moon Goddess by Sue Lynn Tan

I'm Glad My Mom Died by Jennette McCurdy

Solito: A Memoir by Javier Zamora

The High Desert: Black. Punk. Nowhere. by James Spooner

The Kaiju Preservation Society by John Scalzi

True Biz by Sara Nović

Wash Day Diaries by Jamila Rowser

Coretta Scott King Book Awards

Author Award: Amina Luqman-Dawson, Freewater

Illustrator Award: Frank Morrison, Standing in the Need of Prayer written by Carole Boston Weatherford

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Award

Illustrator: Janelle Washington, Choosing Brave written by Angela Joy 

Author: Jas Hammonds, We Deserve Monuments

Coretta Scott King-Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement: Claudette McLinn

Stonewall Book Award

Children: Love, Violet by Charlotte Sullivan Wild, illus. by Charlene Chua

Young Adult: When the Angels Left the Old Country by Sacha Lamb

Schneider Family Book Awards

Young Children: Listen by Shannon Stocker, illus. by Devon Holzwarth

Middle Grade: Wildoak by C.C. Harrington

Teens: The Words We Keep by Erin Stewart

Sydney Taylor Book Awards

Picture Book: The Tower of Life by Chana Stiefel, illus. by Susan Gal

Middle Grade: Aviva vs. the Dybbuk by Mari Lowe

Young Adult: When the Angels Left the Old Country by Sacha Lamb

Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature

Picture Book: From the Tops of the Trees by Kao Kalia Yang, illus. by Rachel Wada

Children's Literature: Maizy Chen's Last Chance by Lisa Yee

Youth/YA Literature: Himawari House by Harmony Becker

Newbery Medal Caldecott Medal Printz Award Youth Media Awards

Dover Free Library:  A Life-Long Learning and Community Cultural Center

© 2013 Dover Free Library - site by IrisLines